Apple Music [Review]

image

The day for Apple Music has come. It’s now in our hands. Will it hold it’s on? Should I stay on Spotify? What’s that radio station I’ve heard about? All will be answered.

Kudos to Apple for making this process so simple. No need to put a credit card number or email/account info in. Without any detailed info your just thrown into the app. This is where it’s confusing if you’ve never use a music app before.

image

Every artist page looks simple and clean. Though the choices that follow them. Are over barring I feel. Should have just been “Artist, Albums and Videos” I was confused about “Add to my music” is this just on phone? Offline? Streaming? Once I looked around through the settings. I discovered that you have to manually set a album to be on offline. Not as a easy task on other music services.

image

Beats 1 Radio is an interesting take. Quick and random. Its commercial free. I just wish they had more info on who’s the DJ, what style and what time they air. Once you hear a song or artist you like. There’s many options to use.

image

Just for comparison I tried Drake radio on Apple Music vs Google’s Play Music. Here’s what they played. First Apple then Google.

image

image

Under the “New” tab. There is just so much! Way too much! Besides all the new music there’s a neat feature that’s way on the bottom.

image

image

image

Activities works well and Curators plays mixes from top music websites/magazines.

image

image

Music Videos are within the app also. Some artist have a good amount and others don’t. Clearly Eminem’s video was nice and widescreen. Blink 182 was full screen. Slipknot only had one video. Terrible I know!

Siri works for Apple music in every way. I tested her with multiple questions.

image

image

All and all it’s the magic that Apple has. Streaming Music something that’s not new. Something other services have. What makes this different. It’s simple in ways and really is fast. Being able to use Siri for me sets this above other services. Sure the radio feature is not as good as others and “Connect” leaves a lot to be remain. I’m staying with Apple Music for now. I’ll check back in after the free trail.

Leave a comment